Snowflakes

I am not a crafty person, and the truth is I hate crafts. I not only hate crafts, but for years no one in the house was allowed to do them. This was mostly when the twins were little, as they were CRAZY for crafts, but the stress of having three young children, mixed with craft supplies, was too much for me. The sight of glue sticks, pipe cleaners, scissors, construction paper, glitter, markers, and any other craft supplies would literally bring out the worst in me. I was so anti-crafts that it was actually a running joke in the family. Oh well, at least I always provide my family with plenty of comedic material.

Anyway fast forward a number of years, and I still hate crafts. My kids however don’t, and, in fact, my daughter excels at them. She is artistic and talented and crafty, and she is older. Which means she can do many crafts, and clean up after herself when she is finished. This also means that she does not need my help at all. She is also good at getting her brothers involved, teaching them what to do and helping her little brother clean up,  while I am of by myself enjoying a nice cup of tea.

What this all means is that crafts are back in our house, and I am not involved with them at all!

Today Autry decided to make some snowflakes for the house. She had just learned how to do these, and she wanted to share it all with us. She got out paper, lots of paper, scissors, and tape. I ignored the situation because seeing all these supplies made me nervous. She was off cutting and taping and what not, and when she finished she had made a great snowflake. I was truly impressed, mostly because when I was a kid the only snowflake I ever made was just a cut-up piece of paper.  I decided to photograph her making the snowflake and promised her I would post it on our blog. She was so happy that I was interested, and I was so proud of her for making a bunch of these for our house. It sure seems so much more festive in here now!

Step 1: Cut paper into a square

Step 2: Fold once

Step 3: Fold twice

Step 4: Make sure the triangle is held the right way and then....

make three cuts in it.

Open it up, and it should look like this.

Step 5: Tape the sides of each strip together

Tape to opposite sides each time

Until you get this. Repeat all the steps 6 times.

Step 6: Tape all six sides together and voila....

you have a beautiful snowflake!

She is going to make enough to cover the whole living room!


~ by Jill Harper on December 16, 2009.

13 Responses to “Snowflakes”

  1. THOSE ARE SO NEAT! I adore snowflakes…thanks for sharing.

  2. Beautiful! I made the ones for the windows, but didn’t have a clue how to make those. Thanks so much for the instructions! Again, beautiful job!!!
    🙂
    Tammy

  3. Those are so pretty! She did a great job. Thanks for the instructions 🙂

  4. That is beautiful!

    We’re having a ‘class party’ next week (invited some of the dc’s friends for a mock classroom party) and these will be a PERFECT decoration.

    Thank you SO MUCH for sharing!

  5. They are lovely! I am sure that my kids will enjoy making these snowflakes.

  6. What a beautiful project! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Wow! These are just beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing, Autry! We’ll be doing these here tomorrow — the kids will be thrilled!

  8. very pretty!!! I will actually try this with my kids!

  9. These are beautiful!! Emma will love doing these, especially while Grandma is visiting!!!

  10. It is a very easy craft. I like it, and we’re hanging it up for the winter. We have made three so far, but we are making more. We really like your craft.
    -Mary Alice, age 8

  11. […] I thought I would re-post this from last year. Enjoy! […]

  12. […] your kids is pipe cleaners. Click here to find the directions for these retro snowflakes. For more elegant snowflakes, that only require paper, scissors, and tape, visit TAD […]

  13. […] One of our most popular posts is the snowflake craft that the girl first shared in 2009. Here is a link to that original post. […]

Leave a Reply

 
